USDA’s Farrell Honored with William C. Haines Dairy Science Award

Davis,Calif. – March 29, 2010 – The California Dairy Research Foundation(CDRF) presented Dr. Harold Farrell of the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Eastern Regional Research Center (ERRC) with the William C.Haines Dairy Science Award on March 2nd in recognition of his contribution to the field of dairy science at the 12th Cal Poly Dairy Ingredients Symposium in San Francisco. Dr. Farrell, who works as an emeritus research chemist at the Dairy Processing and Products Research Unit at the USDA, gave a presentation on the molecular basis for the structure-function relationships of casein.

“Iti s only fitting to award this prize to someone who has done so much to further our understanding of the chemistry of the milk protein system and biochemistry of the mammary gland,” said Dr. Joseph O’Donnell, Executive Director of the California Dairy Research Foundation. “He has dedicated his career – both before and after retirement – to serving the industry and we are grateful for his hard work and dedication.”

“The majority of my scientific career has been spent in fundamental research on milk protein structure-function relationships.  In this area, it is sometimes hard to see or predict a clear end point, but a new insight in itself is always exciting,”said Dr. Farrell.“Recently, my son told me that he and his sister were impressed with the fact that when I went to work I seemed to feel that what I did in the lab, though incremental on a given day, would eventually be a contribution to science.  Receiving the Haines Award, which covers a twenty year period, has made me feel as though it has been worth the effort.  In essence this award is a validation of the scientific process and is greatly appreciated.”

Dr.Farrell received his B.S. in chemistry in 1962 from Mount Saint Mary’s College of Maryland and continued his studies at Pennsylvania State University where he received his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in biochemistry. He worked in the field of dairy chemistry and biochemistry at ERRC from 1967 until his retirement in 2003 when he was then appointed as an emeritus research chemist at ERRC. He has continued his interests in dairy chemistry ever since. His research focus has included a variety of programs related to the chemistry of the milk system and the biochemistry of the mammary gland.  He has authored or co-authored 175 publications, book chapters and review articles and has been recognized by the Institute for Scientific Information as one of the top 100 cited researchers in the field of Agricultural Research. Dr. Farrell’s research has been conducted to achieve a fundamental understanding of the milk protein system from its biosynthesis in the mammary gland through milk processing followed by digestion and absorption. This research has been conducted to be relevant to missions of the Agricultural Research Service as well as the needs of the dairy industry.

Dr.Farrell was elected to life membership in the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and he holds emeritus memberships in the Protein Society, Sigma Xi and the American Chemical Society.  He has been an active member of the American Dairy Science Association (ADSA) where he served on its Board of Directors in 1995-1999. For his research accomplishments and service to the dairy industry, and to the ADSA, Dr. Farrell was included among the first group of elected Fellows of the American Dairy Science Association in 1998.   He was appointed as a representative of ADSA to the newly formed Federation of Animal Science Societies (FASS), which serves to coordinate and advance animal science research and served as a member of the FASS Board of Directors from 1999-2002.

Established in 2004, the William C. Haines Dairy Science Award was created to recognize individuals who, through their accomplishments in research and development in the field of chemistry, biochemistry, microbiology, technology, nutrition, and/or engineering, have made a significant contribution to dairy science and the betterment of the dairy industry and consumers. Past award winners include David Barbano of Cornell University, Todd Klaenhammer of North Carolina State University, Paul Ross of the Teagasc Moorepark Food Research Centre in Ireland, Harjinder Singh from Massey University in New Zealand and Nagedra Shah of Victoria University in Australia.

The award, named for William C. Haines, former Vice President of Product Innovation for Dairy Management Inc., includes an engraved plaque, $1,000 in cash and travel expenses to an annual dairy industry event co-sponsored by the CDRF. A committee representing dairy producers, processors, manufacturers and researchers make the final award selection. Nomination forms for the 2010 award are available online at under “Awards & Giving.” The deadline to submit 2011 nominations is September 22, 2010.

About the CDRF The California Dairy Research Foundation is a non-profit corporation that manages the research activities of the California dairy industry in the areas of basic and applied dairy product research, nutrition, dairy herd health, and food safety. For information about CDRF and the research it supports, visit